<!-- --><style type="text/css">@import url(https://www.blogger.com/static/v1/v-css/navbar/3334278262-classic.css); div.b-mobile {display:none;} </style> </head> <body><script type="text/javascript"> function setAttributeOnload(object, attribute, val) { if(window.addEventListener) { window.addEventListener('load', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }, false); } else { window.attachEvent('onload', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }); } } </script> <div id="navbar-iframe-container"></div> <script type="text/javascript" src="https://apis.google.com/js/plusone.js"></script> <script type="text/javascript"> gapi.load("gapi.iframes:gapi.iframes.style.bubble", function() { if (gapi.iframes && gapi.iframes.getContext) { gapi.iframes.getContext().openChild({ url: 'https://www.blogger.com/navbar.g?targetBlogID\x3d5742028\x26blogName\x3dIN+FRATERNAM+MEAM\x26publishMode\x3dPUBLISH_MODE_BLOGSPOT\x26navbarType\x3dBLUE\x26layoutType\x3dCLASSIC\x26searchRoot\x3dhttps://melsantos.blogspot.com/search\x26blogLocale\x3den_US\x26v\x3d2\x26homepageUrl\x3dhttp://melsantos.blogspot.com/\x26vt\x3d7103640215607662209', where: document.getElementById("navbar-iframe-container"), id: "navbar-iframe" }); } }); </script>
Friday, May 27, 2005
The Twenty Three Categories of the Academy Awards:
Oscars are awarded each year for the best in these categories:

1.. Film
2.. Foreign Language Film
3.. Director
4.. Actor
5.. Actress
6.. Supporting Actor
7.. Supporting Actress
8.. Original Screenplay
9.. Screenplay Adaptation
10. Cinematography
11. Editing
12. Original Score
13. Original Song
14. Art Direction
15. Costume Design
16. Sound
17. Sound Editing
18. Makeup
19. Visual Effects
20. Documentary Features
21. Dcoumentary, Short Subjects
22. Short Film, Animated
23. Short Film, Live

The Nine Muses in Greek Mythology.
Daughters of Mnemosyne and Zeus, the Nine Muses each were responsible for a different art or science. They are:

1.. Calliope, Muse of epic poetry
2.. Clio, Muse of history
3.. Erato, Muse of erotic or love poetry
4.. Euterpe, Muse of lyric poetry
5.. Melpomene, Muse of tragedy
6.. Polyhymnia, Muse of sacred poetry
7.. Tersichore, Muse of dance
8.. Thalia, Muse of comedy
9.. Urania, Muse of astronomy

The Nine Worthies
The Nine Worthies are famous indiviuals whose importance make them comparable to the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. They are commonly grouped in threes, Gentiles, Jews and Christians. They are the following:

1.. Alexander
2.. Hector
3.. Julius Ceasar
4.. Joshua
5.. David
6.. Judas Maccabaeus
7.. King Arthur
8.. Charlemagne
9.. Godfrey de Bouillon

The Twelve Knights of the Round Table
In Arthurian legend there is no one definited list of the Twelve Knights of the Round Table. According to Dryden these are the twelve:

1.. Lancelot
2.. Tristan
3.. Lamoracke
4.. Tor
5.. Galahad
6.. Gawain
7.. Gareth
8.. Palomides
9.. Kay
10. Mark
11. Mordred
12. and another who may be named Ector de Maris, Ewain Gaheris, Lionel, Pelleas, Pervival, or one of several others.

The Four Etheric Formative Forces
Rudolf Steiner first detailed these forces in an optics course in 1921. Based on ancient concept of Ether, Steiner tried to explain them as forces streaming in from the cosmos that cannot be perceived by our senses but whose effects can be studied. These forces are embdied in each person and in all matter. The four are:

1.. Warm Ether, which causes hot or fiery conditions and appears in the color red.

2.. Light Ether,which causes gaseous and airy conditions and appears in yellow.

3.. Chemical Ether,which causes fluid or watery conditions and appears in blue.

4.. Life Ether,which causes solid or earthly conditions and appears in violet.

The Seven Types of Love according to Plato:

1.. Love of man and woman
2.. Love of parent and child
3.. Love of a friend
4.. Love of beauty
5.. Love of good
6.. Love of wisdom
7.. Love of God

The Six Categories of Dogs.
There are more than 100 breeds of dogs. They can be classified in six groups:

1.. Working Dogs, including collies,mstiffs,schnausers,sheepdogs and the Siberian husky.

2.. Sporting Dogs, including pointers, setters and retrievers.

3.. Hounds,including bassets, bloodhounds, dachunds,foxhounds and greyhounds.

4.. Terriers,including fox, Welsh, Scottish terriers and airedales.

5.. Nonsporting Dogs,including chow chows, poodles, dalmatians and bulldogs.

6.. Toy Dogs,including pekingese and chihuahuas.

The Seven Types of Cats:

1.. Great Cats,including lions, tigers, leopards, snow leoplards and jaguars.

2.. Lesser Cats,including ocelots, leopard cats, tabby cats, desert cats, plain cats, and marbled cats.

3.. Other Cats,including pumas, clouded leopards and golden cats.

4.. Lynxes,including jungle cats, caracals, northern lynxes, and bobcats.

5.. Servals

6.. Jaguarondis

7.. Cheetahs

(abstracted from the book of the same title of this blog by: John Boswell and Dan Starer)
posted by infraternam meam @ 3:01 AM  
Post a Comment
<< Home
About Me

Name: infraternam meam
Home: Chicago, United States
About Me: I am now at the prime of my life and have been married for the past 25 years. Sickly at times, but wants to see the elixir vita, so that I will be able to see my grandchildren from my two boys.
See my complete profile
Previous Post
Powered by